Thanks of Congress

During the American Civil War Senate passed resolutions known as Thanks of Congress after impressive actions by military commanders. Those recognized in the way included William Rosecrans (March, 1863), Ulysses Grant (March, 1863), Nathaniel Banks (January, 1864), Ambrose Burnside (January, 1864), Joseph Hooker (January, 1864), Oliver Howard (January, 1864), George Meade (January, 1864), William T. Sherman (February, 1864 and January, 1865), Philip Sheridan (February, 1865), George Thomas (March, 1865). However, it was a naval commander, David Porter, who held the best record as the Senate voted him four Thanks of Congress.