1871 Universities Tests Act

At the beginning of the 19th century Oxford University and Cambridge University were closed to all but Anglicans. Religious groups including Roman Catholics, Wesleyan Methodists, Primitive Methodists and the Quakers campaigned for a change in the law. In 1871 Parliament passed the Universities Tests Act which opened both Oxford and Cambridge to members of all religions.