Local Government Act

After the 1886 General Election the Conservative Government made plans to reform local government. The 1888 Local Government Act created 66 county councils. These councillors were elected by household suffrage and served for three years. Councillors had the opportunity to elect aldermen, who served for six year periods. These councils became responsible for the management of roads, bridges, drains and general county business. As a result of this legislation, London became a separate county with its own form of government, the London County Council.