Army Division

Organising soldiers into divisions first began in France in the 18th century. In 1794 all three categories in the French Army: infantry, cavalry and artillery. The British did not adopt the division until 1807. By 1914 the normal infantry division totalled about 16,000 men, organised into two infantry brigades of four three-battalion regiments, one artillery brigade and supporting units. By March 1915, there were 75 divisions in the British Army.